BOD Contacts

UNENE Voting Members

Bruce Power
Gary Newman
Chief Engineer, VP Engineering
Bruce Power
PO Box 3000
Tiverton, ON   N0G 2T0
Canada
Tel:  519-361-2673
Email: gary.newman@brucepower.com
Assistant: Leanne Cronshaw
Email: Leanne.Cronshaw@brucepower.com
Assistant: Leann Currie
Email: leann.currie@brucepower.com
CNL
Robert Holmes
Vice-President, Research and Development
Canadian Nuclear Laboratories
Chalk River,  ON   K0J 1J0 
Canada
Tel: 613-584-3311 
Email: robert.holmes@cnl.ca
Assistant: Diane Heideman
Email: diane.heideman@cnl.ca
University of Guelph

Peter Tremaine
Department of Chemistry
Office: MacNaughton 314B
50 Stone Road East
Guelph, Ontario, N1G 2W1
Canada
Tel: 519-824-4120 ext: 56076
Email:  tremaine@uoguelph.ca 
McMaster University
John Preston
Dept. of Engineering Physics
1280 Main Street West
Hamilton, ON    L8S 4K1
Canada 
Tel: 905-525-9140  X27294
Email: prestonj@mcmaster.ca
Assistant:  Sarah Anstett
Email: anstets@mcmaster.ca 
OPG
Dean Townsend
Vice President – Engineering Strategy
Ontario Power Generation
889 Brock Rd,
Pickering, ON   L1W 3J2
Canada
Tel:  905-839-6746 extension 5555
Email:  dean.townsend@opg.com
Assistant: Joan Down, Executive Admin Ass’t
Email:  joan.down@opg.com
Tel:  905-839-6746  X4293
Queen’s University
Amir Fam
Queen’s University
Faculty of Eng and Applied Science
Civil Engineering
Office: Ellis-244
Kingston, ON   K7L 3N6
Canada
Tel:  613-533-6352
Email:  amir.fam@queensu.ca

University of Toronto
Grant Allen
Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry
University of Toronto
35 St. George Street, Room: WB221
Toronto, ON, M5S 1A4
Canada
Tel: 416-978-8517
Email: dgrant.allen@utoronto.ca
Assistant: Mary Butera
Email: chair.chemeng@utoronto.ca
Tel: 416-978-3069

Ontario Tech
Akira Tokuhiro
Ontario Tech
Energy Systems and Nuclear Engineering Research Centre (ERC),
2000 Simcoe Street North
Oshawa, ON    L1H 7K4  
Canada
Tel: 905.721.8668
University of Waterloo
Jatin Nathwani
Professor and Ontario Research Chair in Public Policy for Sustainable
Energy Management
University of Waterloo
Waterloo, ON    N2L 3G1
Canada
Tel: 519-888-4567  X 38252
Email: nathwani@uwaterloo.ca
Assistant: Iris Strickler
Email:  iwstrick@uwaterloo.ca
Tel: 519-888-4618

Western University
Miriam Capretz
Faculty of Engineering
Associate Dean, Research Office
Room SEB 2080
Spencer Engineering Building
Western University
London, ON   N6A 5B9
Canada
Tel: 519.661.2111 ext. 81433
Assistant:  Karen McDonald
Email:  kmcdon7@uwo.ca

UNENE non-Voting Members

Candu Energy Inc.
LIette Lemieux
CANDU Owner’s Group Inc.
655 Bay Street, 17th Floor
Toronto, ON    M5G 2K4
Canada
Tel:  (416) 595-1888
Email: Liette.Lemieux@candu.org
CANDU Owner’s Group
Fred Dermarkar
CANDU Owner’s Group Inc.
655 Bay Street, 17th Floor
Toronto, ON    M5G 2K4
Canada
Tel: 416-595-1022
Email:  Fred.Dermarkar@candu.org
Assistant: Bernice Brooks 
Email: bernice.brooks@candu.org
CNSC
Keith Dewar
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
280 Slater Street
P.O. Box 1046,  Station B
Ottawa, ON   K1P 5S9
Canada
Tel:  613-944-6786
Email:  keith.dewar@canada.ca

Ecole Polytechnique
Guy Marleau
Ecole Polytechnique
C.P. 6079, Succ. Centre-Ville
Montréal, Québec   H3C 3A7
Canada 
Tel: 
Fax: 
Email: guy.marleau@polymtl.ca

Kinectrics
Sean Donnelly
Kinectrics
800 Kipling Ave., Unit 2
Toronto, ON M8Z 5G5
Tel: 
Email: sean.donnelly@kinectrics.com
NRCan
Diane Cameron
Natural Resources Canada
580 Booth Street, 17th Floor
Room: C6-1
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0E4
Tel: 343-292-6199
Email: diane.cameron@canada.ca
Nuclear Waste Management Organization
Paul Gierszewski
Nuclear Waste Management Organization
22 St. Clair Avenue East
Sixth Floor
Toronto, ON    M4T 2S3
Canada
Tel: 416-934-9814
Email: pgierszewski@nwmo.ca

Polytechnic University of Bucharest

Bucharest, Romania

Email: daniel.dupleac@upb.ro
Royal Military College of Canada
Thomas Krause
Royal Military College of Canada
Faculty of Engineering
PO Box 17000, Station Forces
Kingston, ON   K7K 7B4
Canada
Tel: 613-541-6000  
Email: thomas.krause@rmc.ca
SNC Lavalin
Catherine Cottrell
SNC-Lavalin
2251 Speakman Drive
Mississauga, ON    L5K 1B2
Tel: 905.823.9040 x36264
Email:  Catherine.Cottrell@snclavalin.com
University of New Brunswick
Derek Lister
University of New Brunswick
Department of Chemical Engineering
University of New Brunswick
P.O. Box 4400
Fredericton, N.B. E3B 5A3
Canada
          
Tel: 506-447-3299
Email: dlister@unb.ca

University of Saskatchewan
Chary Rangacharyulu
University of Saskatchewan
Professor and Head, Department of Physics and Engineering Physics
University of Saskatchewan
116 Science Place
Saskatoon, SK    S7N 5E2
Canada
Tel: 306-966-6412
Email: chary.r@usask.ca
Dept. Secretary: Marj Granrude

CANDU Owner’s Group
John Sowagi
CANDU Owner’s Group Inc.
655 Bay Street, 17th Floor
Toronto, ON    M5G 2K4
Canada
Tel:  (416) 595-1888  X 105
Cell: (647) 465-8789
Email: John.Sowagi@candu.org

UNENE Officers

Jerry Hopwood
UNENE President
McMaster University
UNENE Program
JHE-A315
1280 Main Street West
Hamilton, ON   L8S 4L7
Email: jerry.hopwood1@gmail.com
Assistant: Areti Tsiliganos
Email: unene@mcmaster.ca

Benjamin Rouben
UNENE Secretary/Treasurer
McMaster University
UNENE Program
JHE-A315
1280 Main Street West
Hamilton, ON   L8S 4L7
Email: benjamin.rouben@sympatico.ca
Assistant: Areti Tsiliganos
Email: unene@mcmaster.ca

Nik Popov
UNENE Program Director
McMaster University
UNENE Program
JHE-A315
1280 Main Street West
Hamilton, ON   L8S 4L7
Email: nik.popov@rogers.com
Assistant: Areti Tsiliganos
Email: unene@mcmaster.ca

Image result for nikola popov engineer

Others

EAC Education Advisory Committee Chair
Mahesh Pandey
University of Waterloo
Department of Civil and
Environmental Engineering
200 University Avenue West
Waterloo, ON    N2L 3G1
Canada
Tel: 519-888-4567  X 35858
Email: mdpandey@uwaterloo.ca

RAC Research Advisory Committee Chair
Steve Bushby
Canadian Nuclear Laboratories
Chalk River,  ON   K0J 1J0
Canada
Tel:  
Email:  sbushby@aecl.ca